Out and about

Lately I have been on this whole chinoiserie kick.  I’m not sure why, but I think it’s the element of the exotic and the bright colours.

So when a friend asked me to help her do a complete makeover of her home office, I had big plans.

First off I wanted to incorporate lots of Chinoiserie elements to give the room a well traveled feel.

I set out to find accessories and furniture pieces today that would go well with the look.  And even though I didn’t come home with anything, it did get me brainstorming!

The colour of this pretty tin was a good starting point.

I would probably paint this a turquoise blue with white legs. It would be ideal to store away papers and files.

And this bookshelf would be an unbelievably chic way to store books and accessories.

I would love to give this a fresh coat of paint, maybe orange, or white like this one on Tobi Fairley’s blog.

Dorothy Draper

How about this as some shelf art?

Lonny Magazine

This aqua credenza would also go perfectly in the office.

Room Service

If you have such gorgeous pieces in your home office, there would be numerous ways to hide all the clutter and keep the space clean and chic.

The last find of the day was this pretty side table.  I’d love to paint it two tones to really make the pattern stand out.

Dorothy Draper

 

Check back here at Glam at Home for the complete office makeover.  Till then, keep living your passion, as I dream about design and decor.

Leave a comment

Filed under Chinoiserie Chic

Leave a Reply

