Step Right Up

17 more days till Water for Elephants opens in theaters!

I don’t usually get excited about movie releases, but there is something about a historical love story that really gets me!  That’s probably because my Mom and I use to sit and watch black and white films on Saturday nights when I was a kid.  In the 1930’s and 40’s it just seemed like ladies were ladies and gentlemen were, well gentlemen!

Water for Elephants is based on the New York Times Best Seller by Sara Gruen. The film follows a young man who joins a travelling circus during the Great Depression.

Barnes Quality Circus

I read Water for Elephants sooooo fast. I could just picture the dazzling costumes and over the top circus shows. Gruen’s novel really takes you to that time and place. So I am really hoping that the movie is all that I imagined.

Everytime I see a clip from the film, I am reminded of old Hollywood glamour.

Marlene Dietrich

Dinner at Eight

The style was all about pin curls and lovely red lips.  Even today’s stars are reflecting back to the Golden Age of cinema.

Ohhh j’adore!!

These films were filled with shimmer and shine, glitz and glamour.  They gave the audience a chance to escape the Depression while they were at the theater.

The luxurious sets were over the top with tufted headboards, mirrored dressing tables and satin or velvet fainting couches. This was the birth of the Hollywood Regency style.  My favourite!

Mae West said it best. “Too much of a good thing…can be wonderful.”

Afterall, we could use some more Hollywood Regency glitter and glam in our lives don’t you think?

3 Comments

Filed under Hollywood Chic

3 responses to “Step Right Up

  1. Dara

    I beyond adore Water For Elephants! It is one of my top 5 favorite books! I love that you found inspiration from it! 😀

  2. Pingback: Design 101 |

Leave a Reply

