Hellllooo Dahhhlinggg

Yesterday I was reminded of old Hollywood glamour when I saw a clip of the upcoming film Water for Elephants.

Today I had another little hint of the same when I hit the local resale shop.

I saw this old school phone…

…and immediately pictured it sitting on a glam vanity like this one in the 1933 film Dinner at Eight.

Jean Harlow

If I had a time machine, I would love to go back and be a fly on the wall at one of these movie sets.

Ann Sheridan

I’m loving the mirrored vanity and the ottoman she’s seated on.

Here’s a modern take on an old classic.

I also caught sight of these dulled Chinoiserie lamps.

They kind of reminded me of the ones in this shot.

Katherine Hepburn

I would just change the shades and perhaps paint the figurine one tone like these ones that I found on all about children dress.

I also spotted this vanity chair during my treasure hunting.

It just needs a fresh coat of paint and new fabric.

I can just picture an old hollywood starlet perched on it as she applies her rouge.

Miriam Hopkins

These films seemed to have such beautifully ornate mirrors in them!

1940s Vogue

Tallulah Bankhead

I was lucky enough to score a Syroco style one at a flea market recently.  Mine was only $15, but this one from Horchow is quite a bit more.

Horchow

There’s something so classy about old Hollywood, that I can’ t keep myself away.

1 Comment

Filed under Hollywood Chic

One response to “Hellllooo Dahhhlinggg

  1. Pingback: Design 101 |

Leave a Reply

