Sit Down

When it comes to design, there are a few things I wish I could do.

One is to be able snap my fingers and get a chair or dresser home quick, instead of having to brainstorm which friend I can convince to lend me their truck or van.

The second is I wish I knew how to reupholster. I did get my dining chairs done, but that was easy. I mean big pieces like settees and arm chairs. I keep seeing shabby pieces, with great lines and I can envision how it would look after a coat of paint and some funky fabrics.

I was pretty tempted to buy this office chair…

And reupholster it with some waverly fabric.

Waverly

This rocker would add a funky vibe to a cute nursery with a coat of white paint and some Chevron Fabric.

Kinda like this…

The House of Wood

Meanwhile I keep driving past a flea market and see these stunning chairs outside, but I never have time to stop. Today I made the effort, even though I knew they would probably be waaaayy out of my price range. And they were!

Still a girl can dream of one day owning something like it right?

I would give it a facelift, new paint and upholstery.

Room Service

Room Service

Room Service

Now that I have tackled sanding, priming, painting and simple reupholstery, I think I will attempt a cheapy chair and see how it goes. I am sure my sis is cringing right now after she tried to teach me how to use the sewing machine and instead ended up doing most of the work!

Leave a comment

Filed under Treasure hunting

Leave a Reply

