When I went to Canada a month ago, I was looking forward to picking up a copy of Style at Home’s 100+ Best Designer Secrets Issue. If you subscribe like I do, you still didn’t get this one in the mail. It was a bit pricey ($8) but I gulped up every page of it!

The mag was full of pretty pics and insider tips on how to make your home chic.

Here’s some of them.

“Large-headed flowers like peonies, hydrangeas and chrysanthemums are fast and easy to arrange and you only need a few stems to fill a vase.”
~Margot Austin

“When styling your bookshelves, include more than books. Mix in a variety of items, such as boxes, baskets, framed artwork or photographs, vases, collections and candles. Your options are limitless-I often like to include a pretty handbag, depending on what room the shelves are in.”
~Ann Marie Favot

I thought it pretty clever when Martyn Lawrence Bullard put cluthes and heels in lucite boxes on floating shelves in Jimmy Choo co-founder Tamara Mellon’s apartment on a recent episode of Million Dollar Decorators.

What an idea, why not get little clear boxes for your favourite mementos so you can showcase them instead of hiding them in a box. Maybe your baby’s first shoes or your old toy train. There are so many options!

Ok back to the designer tips.

“Never underestimate the power of paint. I’m always on the hunt for inexpensive objects that can easily be updated with a coat of paint.”
~Christine Hanlon

Honey & Fitz

“When it comes to accessories, I think vintage and one-of-a-kind are always best.”
~Margot Austin

“It’s all about pattern. Great prints in bright colours create visual interest in any space.”
~Catherine Therrien

“When in doubt, start with a neutral, then layer in pattern and colour. For the bedroom, a white duvet cover looks smashing and can be adorned with a vibrant coverlet and decorative pillows.”
~Tamara Robbins Griffith

Caitlin Wilson

“Creating interesting art-work can be inexpensive and easy. Try framing wallpaper, fabric remnants, or pages from books and magazines.”
~Catherine Therrien

I try to use all these ideas in my own home. And there are soooo many more, but I was just flipping through the magazine while I had my tea this morning. If I come across anymore good ones, I’ll definitely share!

Leave a comment

Filed under Designers

Leave a Reply

