The weekend is here!

And that means me trying to cram in my usual house chores, cleaning, groceries etc and my interior projects. Ahhh never enough time in one day!!

A fellow Mom friend of mine, cackled hysterically one day while visiting my home, warning me of my impending birth and telling me that I should complete as many projects as possible before the little peanut arrives. She’s probably right, so I have taken her words of wisdom and pushed ahead, big belly and all.

So last weekend the legs of this footstool were sanded, primed and painted. This was what it looked like when I bought it. Yes it’s ugly fugly, but that will change soon!

Today I gave it another coat of paint and I’ll do one more shot before letting it all dry and reupholstering. Yesterday I hit the fabric shop and found a mauve-ish looking fabric for $2.50!!

It’s a bit girly, but oh well, I”m the one who will be resting my tired feet on it the most 🙂

Now the big question is about the piping.

Years ago my sister was kind enough to try to show me how to use the sewing machine. Despite her best efforts, it was something that I had trouble with and everytime she left the room I would call her back again for help!! Needless to say she got sick of my antics and ended up doing the job herself.

Now her little tutorial is coming back to haunt me as I”m faced with the issue of the piping. All the blogs online say to sew the piping. But I don’t even own a sewing machine! Luckily I have some no-sew fusing tape lying around so I”m going to attempt that. More on this later.

First of all I need to figure out if I want piping that is different in colour than the upholstery fabric. I do have some grey fabric lying around from my cork board project which might work. Contrasting piping looks very professional if done well. Kinda like these.

Ana Antunes

I know this is a coat, but you get the idea. Plus I loved the colour!

Pinterest

Or I can stick with one tone piping.

I am hoping I can get this sucker completed by tonight. The hubster went to watch football which means I can enjoy all my girly shows while he’s gone! Wish me luck!

2 Comments

Filed under Treasure hunting

2 responses to “

  1. Anupama das

    Who may I ask was that fellow friend- she cackles??

Leave a Reply

